Hansee Hall is the oldest residence hall at the university. It is named after Martha Lois Hansee. Hansee was Dean of Women and a professor of Greek Language and Literature who taught at the university from 1881 to 1884 and again from 1895 to 1903.
Hansee Hall’s wings are named after Northwest women pioneers:
- Eliza Leary, the daughter of the first governor of Washington
- Isabella Austin, the first dean of women
- Ruth McKee, the first woman member of the Board of Regents
- Kathryn Blaine, the first Seattle schoolteacher
Temporary residence halls around Frosh Pond—Rainier, Olympus, Cascade, and Baker— to be replaced by academic buildings.
On West Campus, Terry Hall, named after one of the first original land donors, opens and is the first high-rise residence hall complete with phones in each room. Room and Board in 1953 was $190 per quarter.
Attached to Terry, Lander Hall, named after Seattle pioneer Edward Lander, opens.
McCarty Hall, named after the UW’s 1st woman graduate, Clara McCarty, opens.
Haggett Hall opens as the first coed residence hall and is named after Dean of Liberal Arts Arthur Haggett and Winifred Haggett, Dean of Women.
McMahon Hall, originally intended for graduate students, named after the McMahons, Edward, Professor of History and Teresa, economics and business teacher, opens as the first cluster arrangement.
The original Mercer Hall opens, named after UW’s first president, Asa Mercer.
Stevens Court Apartments, named after Isaac Stevens, first territorial governor of Washington, opens.
Commodore Duchess Apartments, originally built in 1920s, is purchased by the UW around 1960. HFS maintenance, custodial offices and shop operated out of the basement during the 1970s, until the building was shut down in 1992 due to its poor condition. Renovated and re-opened as a public-private partnership.
Radford Court opens, replacing post-World War II era Sandpoint Family Housing, and is named after Admiral Arthur William Radford, Commander of Sand Point naval base.
Ian’s Domain, an internet café, opens in McCarty Hall, and was named after the late Ian McHarg, Assistant Director for Computing Services (prior to the name change to IT).
Husky Den at the HUB (1950) is given a major remodeling and introduction of the food courts concept. McMahon Food Service is remodeled and becomes The 8.
Nordheim Court, honoring Sandra Nordheim, past Director of HFS, opens. Catering moves to the former Haggett kitchen.
Terry Café is remodeled and becomes Eleven 01.
The first food trucks open when the Husky Den is closed during remodeling at the HUB.
Development on West Campus
- Poplar Hall opens
- Cedar Apartments open
- Elm Hall opens
- Cultivate Restaurant opens in Elm Hall
- Alder Hall opens
- District Market, including Husky Grind, opens
- The new Mercer Court opens
- Husky Grind Mercer opens
- New Lander Hall opens
- Local Point in Lander Hall opens
- New Terry Hall opens
- Maple Hall opens
The entire north campus boasts a unique relationship between the landscape and the built environment. The buildings, pathways and landscape are carefully integrated to create a Pacific Northwest national park-like environment to the east.
North Campus openings:
- Willow Hall
- McCarty Hall
- Madrona Hall
- Center Table